Quantcast
Press Releases

Wooden Legacy Tickets On Sale This Friday; Ucla Basketball Returns To Orange County

Sep. 28, 2016

Tickets for the 2016 Wooden Legacy will go on sale September 30 as the eight-school, bracketed in-season tournament will be played Thanksgiving weekend at two sites in Orange County.

Headlining the three-day, 12-game event will be UCLA (Pac-12 Conference) where the legendary John Wooden coached the Bruins to 620 wins in 27 seasons.  His teams captured 10 NCAA titles during his last 12 seasons, including seven in a row from 1967 to 1973.

Other schools competing in the 2016 Wooden Legacy will be CSUN (Big West), Dayton (Atlantic 10), Nebraska (Big Ten), New Mexico (Mountain West), Portland (West Coast), Texas A&M (Southeastern) and Virginia Tech (Atlantic Coast).

The opening two rounds of the Wooden Legacy will be played at Titan Gym, on the campus of Cal State Fullerton, on Thursday and Friday, November 24 and 25.  Four games, including the Wooden Legacy championship, will be played at Honda Center on Sunday, November 27.

All-session tickets and individual tickets for Championship Sunday will be available at www.ticketmaster.com, via phone at 800/745-3000, and all Ticketmaster outlets beginning Friday, September 30. Tickets will go on sale at the Honda Center Box Office beginning Saturday, October 1. Groups of 10 or more can purchase seats by calling 714/940-2859.  Individual tickets for the opening two rounds can be purchased at the Cal State Fullerton Athletic Ticket Office or by calling 657/278-2783 beginning November 9 at 12 p.m. (PT).

All-session tickets for the 12 games range from $75 to $250.  For the final session at Honda Center, seats range from $25 to $200.

Both Dayton and Texas A&M participated in the 2016 NCAA Championships with the Aggies advancing to the “Sweet 16”.  CSUN, New Mexico, Portland, Texas A&M, UCLA and Virginia Tech will be participating in the 2016 Wooden Legacy event for the second-time.  Dayton is coached by Archie Miller, the brother of the Arizona coach (Sean), that led the Wildcats to a third-place finish in the 2016 Wooden Legacy.

The Wooden Legacy was formed in June 2013 as two vibrant, nationally-recognized in-season collegiate basketball events joined forces as the John R. Wooden Classic was merged with the Anaheim Classic that had been played the previous six years (2007-2012) at the Anaheim Convention Center.  The Wooden Classic was staged 19 years (1994-2012) at Honda Center with the first 17 events being college doubleheaders.

All 12 games of the 2016 Wooden Legacy will be televised on the ESPN Networks (ESPN2, ESPNU, ESPN3).  Fullerton/Anaheim is in the Pacific Time Zone (three hours behind ET and one hour behind of MT).

Thursday, November 24 at Titan Gym
Game 1 - Texas A&M vs. CSUN, 11 a.m. (2 p.m. ET, 1 p.m. CT, 12 p.m. MT), ESPN3
Game 2 - New Mexico vs. Virginia Tech, 1:30 p.m. (4:30 p.m. ET, 3:30 p.m. CT, 2:30 p.m. CT), ESPN
Game 3 - Dayton vs. Nebraska, 5:30 p.m. (8:30 p.m. ET, 7:30 p.m. CT, 6:30 p.m. MT), ESPNU
Game 4 - Portland vs. UCLA, 8 p.m. (11 p.m. ET, 10 p.m. CT, 9 p.m. MT), ESPN2

Friday, November 25 at Titan Gym
Game 5 - Texas A&M/CSUN loser vs. New Mexico/Virginia Tech loser, 12 p.m. (3 p.m. ET, 2 p.m. CT, 1 p.m. MT), ESPNU
Game 6 - Texas A&M/CSUN winner vs. New Mexico/Virginia Tech winner, 2:30 p.m. (5:30 p.m. ET, 4:30 p.m. CT, 3:30 p.m. MT), ESPN2
Game 7 - Dayton/Nebraska loser vs. Portland/UCLA loser, 6:30 p.m. (9:30 p.m. ET, 8:30 p.m. CT, 7:30 p.m. MT) ESPN3
Game 8 - Dayton/Nebraska winner vs. Portland/UCLA winner, 9 p.m. (12 a.m. ET - next day, 11 p.m. CT, 10 p.m. MT) ESPN2

Sunday, November 27 at Honda Center
Game 9 - Game 5 and Game 7 winners, 11 a.m. (2 p.m. ET, 1 p.m. CT, 12 p.m. MT), ESPNU
Game 10 - Game 6 and Game 8 losers, 1 p. m. (4 p.m. ET, 3 p.m. CT, 2 p.m. MT), ESPNU
Game 11, Championship - Game 6 and Game 8 winners, 5:30 p. m. (8:30 p.m. ET, 7:30 p.m. CT, 6:30 p.m. MT), ESPN
Game 12 - Game 5 and Game 7 losers, 8 p.m. (11 p.m. ET, 10 p.m. CT, 9 p.m. MT), ESPNU

Additional ticket and travel package information can be found on the event web site at www.TheWoodenLegacy.com.